Scaling WordPress & Co-ordinating Code at WordUp Whitehall

Thanks to Simon Dickson for inviting me to speak at WordUp Whitehall, a specialist and informal one day WordPress conference for people working in UK Government. I don’t do enough speaking, something I need to address, and this was a great opportunity to share some of the knowledge gained from working on relaunching the recent Defra project.

My presentation covered two quite separate topics: scaling WordPress for large amounts of traffic, and how version control can be useful for client in-house teams.

Here’s a PDF version of the talk, and certainly let me know if there’s any speaking opportunities coming up… I’m available! Scaling WordPress & Co-ordinating code

There’s a lot of images used in the presentation, and thanks to the following for providing their photos under a Creative Commons license:

© @hwayoungjung – http://www.flickr.com/photos/hwayoungjung/3742229597/
© Andrew Becraft – http://www.flickr.com/photos/dunechaser/2816064611/
© Christian Payne –http://www.flickr.com/photos/christianpayne/3524859632/in/photostream/
© Don Solo – http://www.flickr.com/photos/donsolo/2886355241/
© Evan Moss – http://www.flickr.com/photos/mightymoss/4163027317/in/photostream/
© Federico Casares – http://www.flickr.com/photos/solofotones/1839531915/
© Garrett & Kitty Wilkin –http://www.flickr.com/photos/gareandkitty/338059022/in/photostream/
© Garrett Coakley – http://www.flickr.com/photos/garrettc/2172850095/
© Gopal Vijayaraghavan –http://www.flickr.com/photos/t3rmin4t0r/3947963283/in/photostream/
© H.Powers – http://www.flickr.com/photos/melisande-origami/108813447/sizes/l/
© H.Powers – http://www.flickr.com/photos/melisande-origami/108813447/sizes/l/
© Hobvias Sudoneighm – http://www.flickr.com/photos/striatic/3834431/
© Jimmie –http://www.flickr.com/photos/jimmiehomeschoolmom/2810673350/in/photostream/
© Joseph Robertson – http://www.flickr.com/photos/josephrobertson/59407804/
© Mike McCune – http://www.flickr.com/photos/mccun934/3261249676/
© Mo Riza – http://www.flickr.com/photos/moriza/96724309/in/photostream/
© Mo Riza – http://www.flickr.com/photos/moriza/96724309/in/photostream/
© Pyno Moscato – http://www.flickr.com/photos/pinomoscato/3992211669/
© Rob Shenk – http://www.flickr.com/photos/rcsj/400758302/sizes/l/in/photostream/
© Sean Dreilinger –http://www.flickr.com/photos/seandreilinger/2326448445/in/photostream/
© Sean Dreilinger –http://www.flickr.com/photos/seandreilinger/2326448445/in/photostream/
© Steve Harwood – http://www.flickr.com/photos/captkodak/272746539/in/photostream/
© Thomas Hawk – http://www.flickr.com/photos/thomashawk/2442371176/
© Troy Holden – http://www.flickr.com/photos/troyholden/4114564467/in/photostream/

The first WordCamp UK was a cracker

I spent the weekend in the company of 50 or so other WordPress users, designers, developers, the odd Aussie Automattician, and a WordPress lead developer at the first WordCamp UK. It was great to meet a such a varied and interesting group of bloggers and blog makers, many of whom I’m going to have to wait until next year to properly talk to… a weekend is just too short!

Continue reading The first WordCamp UK was a cracker